Oshima Lab., Grad. School of Engineering, Osaka Univ.

Notice:

New website of Sakurai group is here: http://www.chem.eng.osaka-u.ac.jp/~sakurai-lab/

Our Research

We are aiming to elucidate the basic principle in order to synthesize novel compounds efficiently and selectively based on the chemical and physical properties of organic molecular. For this purpose, we are performing systematic studies of substittuent and solvent effects of novel reactions to propose the mechanism, considering the steric and electronic factor governing the reaction. It is necessary to investigate molecular orbital theoretically and kinetically to this goal.

Main Research theme
  1. Development of Novel Reaction Based on Electron Acceptability of Fullerenes and Quinone/Carbonyl Compounds
  2. Solvent Effects and Reaction Kinetics
  3. Study on Molecular Orbital of Cage Compounds
  4. Application of Water-soluble Fullerene Nano Particle
  5. Elucidation of Structure and Reactivity of Fullerene Multiadduct
  6. Development of New Fullerene Materials
    (Liquid Crystals and Photoresists)

about Fullerene

Kinetic Study of Fullerene Reactions

By kinetic comparison of reactivity of C60 and C70, the correlation between molecular structure and the reactivity was governed by FMO theory.

C60 kinetics

References:
  1. Tetrahedron Lett., 2012, 53, 3581.
  2. Org. Biomol. Chem., 2012, 10, 1730.
  3. Eur. J. Org. Chem., 2011, 6452.
  4. Org. Lett., 2008, 10, 293-296.
  5. Org. Lett., 2007, 9, 4045.
  6. J. Org. Chem., 2006, 71, 2995.
R&D of Water-soluble Fullerenes

Application of novel water-soluble fullerenes for functional cosmetics and polishing slurry of semiconductor.

References:
  1. Nano. Res., 2011, 4, 204.
  2. Journal of Composite Materials, 2011, 45, 2595.
  3. CIRP Annals - Manufacturing Technology, 2009, 58, 495.
  4. Nanoscale Res. Lett., 2008, 3, 237-241.
  5. ACS Nano, 2008,2, 327-333.
  6. BioSci. BioTech. Biochem., 2006, 70, 3088.
3. Selective Derivatization of Fullerenes

Clarification of the mechanism and selectivity of radical reaction and hydroarylation of fullerenes.

References:
  1. Org. Lett., 2011, 13, 4244.
  2. J. Org. Chem., 2010, 75, 4574.
  3. Org. Lett., 2008, 10, 3335.
4. Novel Reaction of Quinones

Rearrangement reactions of quinone compounds by Lewis acids or photoirradiation.

References:
  1. J. Org. Chem., 2010, 75, 833.
  2. Tetrahedron Lett., 2010, 51, 955.
  3. Chemcomm., 2008, 1804-1806.
  4. Org. Lett., 2007, 9, 3421-3424.
  5. Tetrahedron Lett., 2006, 47, 7881.

Members

Staff
g•ª Name Phone e-mail*
Professor Hidehiro Sakurai 4591 hsakurai
Associate Prof. Ken Kokubo 4592 kokubo
Assistant Prof. Naohiko Ikuma 4593 ikuma

–Followed by @chem.eng.osaka-u.ac.jp
Fax: +81-6-6879-4593

Students
Glade Name e-Mail*
M2 Ryo Takahashi r.takahashi
M2 Kouichi Fujioka k.fujioka
M1 Yu Yamazaki y-yamazaki
M1 Ryohei Shimada r.shimada
B4 Toshihiko Okada t.okada
B4 Nozomi Sato n.sato
B4 Hideaki Toda h.toda
B4 Shota Hishikawa s.hishikawa
B4 Sachi Mouri s.mouri

–Followed by @chem.eng.osaka-u.ac.jp

Link

Osaka University
Project
Society belonged